Women's Basketball Wins Key Largo Classic Championship

Women's Basketball Wins Key Largo Classic Championship

TAVERNIER, Fla. - Jumping out to a 20-6 lead in the first half, UMass Boston (9-2) cruised from there to defeat Fitchburg State (5-5), 76-39, to win the Key Largo Classic at Coral Shores High School. Freshman forward Olivia Murphy (Canton, Mass.) was named tournament MVP after recording a double-double in both games in the event.

Murphy finished the contest with 21 points and 10 rebounds, to notch her fifth career double-double in just 11 games. Also making the All-Tournament Team for UMass Boston was Lauren Perra (Taunton, Mass.), who had 13 assists and 10 points in the championship, and Andrea Suffredini (Milford, Mass.), who had a game-high 23 points with five three-pointers. Perra's 13 assists were a career-high and were enough to give the sophomore guard her first career double-double.

Sophomore forwards Kirsten Morrison (North Reading, Mass.) and Brittany Moore (Billerica, Mass.) joined with Murphy to dominate the paint. The Beacons pulled down 15 of their 51 rebounds on the offensive end and poured in 30 points in the paint. Morrison finished the game with 10 points and nine rebounds, while Moore added eight points off the bench.

Amy Fahey joined the three Beacons on the All-Tournament Team for Fitchburg State, putting together 21 points in a win over Elmira Sunday.

The win gives the Beacons their second tournament title of 2012, after UMass Boston earned their first UMass Boston Tip-Off Tournament Title since 2007, with Murphy picking up MVP honors in that tournament as well. It also signified the Beacons second victory over the Falcons this year, after the Beacons downed Fitchburg State 70-67 November 20.

In the consolation game, Maine Maritime edged Elmira, 60-59, behind 19 points and eight rebounds from Mary Badeen. The guard earned all-tournament honors, also collecting a double-double (17 points, 11 rebounds) against UMass Boston Sunday.

2013 Key Largo All-Tournament Team

Mary Badeen (Maine Maritime)

Jessica Zoltowski (Elmira)

Amy Fahey (Fitchburg State)

Lauren Perra (UMass Boston)

Andrea Suffredini (UMass Boston)

MVP – Olivia Murphy (UMass Boston)

Credit to James Gill, of the University of Miami Sports Information Department who helped with this story